“Songs About Giant Isopods”

So. The time has come. In winter of 2007, for reasons which have slipped from my grasp, I commissioned a group of musicians to each compose and record a song about the species Bathynomus Giganteus – better known as Giant Isopods.

Seventeen bands wrote seventeen songs, they e-mailed them to me, I made a tracklist, someone designed a cover, one band even made a video and then… nothing.

isopodcover

I have no one to blame but myself. Sure some of the bands dragged their feet with things, but in the end a combination of no longer being able to access a certain online community during the day, and the time it took to get certain things organised (plus recording ‘Fight My Battles For Me’) meant I never felt I had time to do the album justice. The plan had been to put it together and release it as a charity record, with proceeds going to the Marine Conservation Society. It never happened. I can only apologise.

So today, as long-belated attempt to make amends to the musicians who made some, frankly, amazing contributions to a very silly idea for a record, I have decided to just upload the thing so people can finally listen to it.

So here it is:

1. Paul Hawkins – Isopod (I can evolve)
2. Pocus Whiteface – Giant Isopods Ate My Well-Known Brand of Corn Chips
3. Pagan Wanderer Lu – An Isopod Is Cute In The Eyes Of An Isopod
4. Silence at Sea – Gladiators on Repeat
5. Plurals – What Know They Of Bathynomus?
6. Thee Merricks – Chitinous Tease
7. The Jaynes – Crusty The Isopod
8. Stealthtones – Nefarious Crustacean Confectionary Debacle
9. Little My – In Isolation Nothing Makes Sense
10. Werk – Giant Isopods Have Stolen My Gameboy
11. Jam on Bread – Isopod in my bathroom
12. The Silent Clothes – Hold it Together
13. Tom Lee – Two Letters Less Than The Apple
14. Time Space Repeat – Rise of the Giant Isopods
15. Meles Meles – Isopod Love Song
16. Ziggy Bolus & The Thomas Ferguson Band – Me, Myself and Isopod
17. Hello World – Vorarephilia

all songs are (c) 2007 the artists.

Every song on it is a triumph. What originally excited me about putting something like this together was how the hell anyone would react to writing about something so esoteric as what is, essentially, a huge underwater woodlouse. I turned away some perfectly good pieces of music purely because they were essentially instrumentals, I wanted to see what people came up with lyrically. Who knew someone would use Isopods as an analogy for a failing relationship? Or draw a link between them and TV’s Gladiators? Giant woodlice stealing your gameboy? Then there’s Tom Lee’s frankly baffling contribution. As I said already, every band on there rose to the challenge amazingly. I hope you enjoy the album. And I hope it was worth the wait.

I also urge you, if you enjoy the record, please make a donation to the Marine Conservation Society. Looking after sea creatures isn’t the most glamorous work going, that’s all the more reason to help them out. Do it whilst the record’s downloading!

Tags:

25 Responses to ““Songs About Giant Isopods””

  1. TheoGB Says:

    Hurrah!!!

    That video for any that haven’t seen it:

    http://pocuswhiteface.com/videos.php#video_75

    Cheers
    Pocus Whiteface

  2. Matt In The Hat Says:

    I’m getting a ‘file not found’ on track 16. Is this my fault?

  3. ziggy Says:

    you don’t want to hear track 16.

  4. paganwandererlu Says:

    Track 16 now fixed.x

  5. Scatman Dan Says:

    These are the best songs about giant isopods I’ve ever heard.

  6. Jonny Says:

    It seems your bandwidth has been exceeded… which is a shame.

  7. Denyer Says:

    Any chance of bundling the MP3s into a ZIP file and sticking it up on somewhere such as Mediafire or Rapidshare?

  8. Angela Says:

    Hi! A few years ago, I recorded an ep called ‘Isopod’ which also features a song with the same name and had a giant isopod on the cover and the inside sleeve. Last week, I actually encountered my first marine isopod in the flesh – hooray! Will download your compilation now and see how other people interact with one of my favourite creatures! :)

  9. giant isopod music « Notebook of a Mermaid Says:

    [...] who have put together a soundwavecarrier with ‘giant isopod’ tunes can be found here. the webocean address for the download of said music is here. downloading the sounds is free, but [...]

  10. Let’s Gather & Sing About Giant Isopods | Deep Sea News Says:

    [...] chips. The giant isopod album we’ve talked about before, although it beats me where it is, is now up online for you to listen to and download. So many favorites but Isopod Love Song is a [...]

  11. Coming to a benthic store near you . . . Says:

    [...] I couldn’t help but laugh when I saw this one, folks. But I give you the Dave Berry Oath: I Am Not Making This Up. Yes, behold: “Songs About Giant Isopods”. [...]

  12. Jakki Says:

    THANK. YOU.

    The dA music Forum and I were waiting SO LONG for this to come out. I applaud you.

  13. Rock me Bathynomus « Arthropoda Says:

    [...] Rock me Bathynomus By Mike Bok At first I thought this was a joke, but it’s real, gloriously real. Musician and blogger Pagan Wanderer Lu commissioned an music album centered around the giant isopod, Bathynomus giganteus, as a sort of creative experiment. Seventeen, musicians contributed to the project, composing songs about life, love, and giant deep-sea crustaceans. Get the whole album, “Songs About Giant Isopods”, here. [...]

  14. You’re only Nineteen for God’s sake: a HLP19 sampler « Helen Llewelyn Product Nineteen Says:

    [...] Isopod) unwisely features me trying to sing, and is the turd amongst many diamonds on the 2007 Songs About Giant Isopods compilation commissioned and curated by Pagan Wanderer [...]

  15. Ellie Says:

    Hi Team Giant Isopod!

    My name is Ellie and I work for Sea Life – we’d really like to see if we can help you get the album out there as I can’t say too much here but we really want to raise awareness about the Giant Isopods this year. Please could paganwandererlu get in touch on 01202 66900 and ask for Ellie in Marketing if you’re interested!

    Many thanks,

    Ellie

    Ellie

  16. King Says:

    What advice do you have for young couples?

  17. Zoe Z Says:

    “Songs about giant Isopods”
    i was really pleased when i stumbled upon this album a few months ago. the ‘team isopod’ myspace came up when i searched for isopod images, as they are one of my favorite creatures as well.
    all of the songs are fantastic; well made and extremely creative. the titles alone on these tracks are enough to add interest to any music collection (‘giant isopods ate my well-known brand of corn chips’, ‘giant isopods have stolen my gameboy’).
    i especially liked the tracks ‘isopod is cute in the eyes of an isopod’, ‘gladiators on repeat’ and ‘nothing makes sense in isolation’. ‘me, myself and isopod’ is probably one of, if not, the strangest pieces of music i have ever heard, and it is fascinating. and all of the cheesy pop love song writers could take a lesson from the simple and honest “isopod lovesong’ – “you eat me up, and i don’t even complain, because i’m dead.”
    thanks to team isopod for all the awesome music!

  18. dizzytherotifer Says:

    Any chance this is up somewhere on the web for download?

  19. Treefrog Says:

    Your MP3 host seems to have gone belly-up. Is there another way I can find this album? I’ll pay…

  20. diabetes dieta Says:

    I have read so many articles or reviews
    regarding the blogger lovers but this post is really a fastidious article, keep
    it up.

  21. JNDonnelly Says:

    I also would like to download this album. I would even throw money at it. I think all our lives would be better if you made this album accessible again.

  22. Liz C Says:

    Likewise! I will also pay!

  23. Alex Ingram (@nuttyxander) Says:

    I agree with JNDonnelly, this should go on bandcamp really. I’d even pay money.

  24. JNDonnelly Says:

    Alex, did you get the link to work? I had already tried it, and just tried again, but it appears disabled.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

