The last ten cds I bought

In reverse order:

NB – these are not ‘reviews’

BBC Radiophonic Workshop – BBC Radiophonic Music
Awesome little compilation of early stuff from Delia Derbyshire, John Baker and David Cain. Back when it was actually possible to create new sounds rather than just reference something else.

Dan Deacon – Bromst
Ridiculously euphoric music explosion. I’ll be spending a lot of time with this record I can tell.

Royksopp – Junior
Slightly disappointing overall but enough standouts in the first half to justify buying it. Track 3 has the single best sawtooth synth sound I’ve ever heard. I want to make it into a cake and bury my face in it.

Fever Ray – Fever Ray

I’m not sure about this. The first few songs are very promising. Especially ‘If I had a heart’ (the Fuck Buttons remix is also ace). But the rest of it just seems a bit tasteful. Kind of overly theatrical world music does dark feel to it. I may revise my opinion in time. I’ve only had it a week. (I don’t download things like you naughty fuckers)

Pavement – Brighten The Corners: Nicene Creedence Edition
One of my favourite albums ever. Bonus tracks are 20% awesome previously released stuff and the rest fairly ignorable unreleased wibbles. Not to be sniffed at though.

Fleet Foxes – Fleet Foxes/Sun Giant
I really like this album. It’s just really moving. His voice is beautiful. It’s not very clever but I don’t argue with my own ears. Didn’t have the cd yet so I bought this for the extra disc which I have then failed to listen to. (I paid for the download you naughty fucks)

Bon Iver – For Emma, Forever Ago
I like this for the same reasons I like the Fleet Foxes one. It just bypasses notions of whether it should be good and goes straight for the heartstrings. It sounds a bit like the TV on the Radio guy going acoustic, which can only be good.

Beirut – March of the Zapotec
Not mad on this. Another failed attempt to get excited about Beirut. Prefer A Hawk and A Hacksaw any day. He has his moments but on the whole it just doesn’t do it for me.

Beastie Boys – Paul’s Boutique
Part of my attempt to find some hip hop I like. I enjoy the beats and the grooves but I just can’t get past rapping. I think I will forever find that records are ruined for me by non-melodic vocalisations. I can appreciate the lyrics and the flow but ulitmately it leaves me cold. It just sounds uniformly aggressive or bored. What am I doing wrong?

Crystal Castles – Crystal Castles
Another example of me having my finger firmly on the pulse of what’s cool in 2008. I enjoy this record. I’m absolutely astounded that it sold more than 100 copies. What do the masses see in it? This is just like a collection of neat 8-bit referencing grooves with occasional pointless shouting & chipnoise workouts. I like it but I don’t get why so many others do. Maybe that gum I like is going to come back in style?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “The last ten cds I bought”

  1. nuttyxander Says:

    I downloaded the Royksopp album from emusic with pretty low expectations but really like it.

    It seems they originally recorded Track 3 as a remix of a Japanese singer. Which may explain why the album still annoys me a bit due to being a big disjointed.

Leave a Reply

